True stories with a twist!

My New Book

After a long focused time of hard work, after writing, rewriting and editing I finally did it: published my first book. The book is about my experience of going through breast cancer.

En Garde is a good guide for reducing stress in times of fear and anxiety. And who doesn’t have those emotions for various reasons at some time in our lives?

The lesson of the book is that the mind is an incredibly powerful tool that can help overcome difficult times. The mind can provide a way out of painful situations no matter what the cause of those fears and anxieties may be. Who could ever imagine that the hero of my true story would be an imaginary British gentleman, only six inches tall, who was my rock of strength and had the power that defeated the “Big C?” It is quite a remarkable story. I’m sure everyone will want to know about Percy Puddlethorpe.

Now the real problem is at hand: spreading the word. I know about it, now you know about it, but how can I get the rest of the world to know about it?

Current wisdom says to use all manners of social media to tell others. That might work, but I think the better way is to ask for human help. So I am asking each of you to send this

Cover picture

EN GARDE, MY BATTLE WITH BREAST CANCER by Ronnie Hammer

post to those on your email list. This is a book that can help many people, but first it has to get to them.  Will you help me tell those that you know? Everyone knows someone who has or had breast cancer. If they could read my experience they will be stronger for it and they will be armed to help themselves.

My book is “En Garde, My Battle With Breast Cancer,” by Ronnie Hammer. It is available world wide at http://www.amazon.com. If you each would forward this blog to those on your email list many more people will know that this book could help them. 

Thank you for your help, and I wish you all a healthy, wonderful year.

Comments on: "My New Book" (43)

  1. OH MY GOSH, Ronnie! Sure enough, I click directly on your site and here is your book, the image, even – so similar to what I used in my post! I apologize if I infringed in any way – trust me, it was totally unintentional!! Wow. I might not believe it, were I you, but it’s completely true. My life is so chaotic lately with several events going on, along with traveling – interspersed with writing – that I totally missed this post of yours, and never saw the book image on your WP blog page. Anyhow, dear one, so sorry! Best of luck with your book! And perhaps I’ll go back and re-name my post. Ergh!

    • No, Bela, really not necessary. I certainly don’t have any ownership over that title; in fact quite a few books are named the very same name, but are about different subjects.

      • Oh, Ronnie, I changed it. I still remember a high school English teacher drilling into me the perils of plagiarism ;) And though I know nothing is truly original, I still would never intentionally abscond with someone’s line.
        Cheers!

  2. Congrats my friend, I shared this on FB!
    Warm wishes. :)

  3. Congrats, Ronnie. I shared on Twitter!

  4. Many thanks, Lisa, and keep up your wonderful work in the New Year!

  5. Congrats on the book!

  6. fransiweinstein said:

    Wishing you all the best for 2014; and great success with the book!

  7. Just did the reblog thing and posted it for my readers – all 6 of them. ;)

  8. Reblogged this on Andrew's View of the Week and commented:
    Just about two years ago Ronnie Hammer left a comment on my blog saying she was working on a book about her experience with breast cancer. Well, she’s finished it and here it is. You can order a copy through the link on her blog.

  9. Ronni, congratulations on your book. I have linked you to my fb page. Carina

  10. Congrats on your book. I shared on Facebook. Good luck!

  11. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!! How incredibly exciting! I am sure this baby of yours was made with love, pain and passion! Can’t wait to read it and I will be happy to spread the word. :)

    • You are so right! At the time I never thought I would write a book about the experience, but as I told people my story they encouraged me to write it and share my technique with others who need moral support and encouragement.

      I hope you enjoy it.

  12. Well done, Ronnie! Let this be the good start of an excellent writing career. I have shared it in my FB page: Joseph Sebastine

  13. Just shared it on my FB .. my email addresses contain too many businesses who could block me if I send such emails… but done the FB thing… I would have Google + if you had the button…

    • Thanks, Bulldog; you are indeed a pal. Imagine people in South Africa learning about my book: that’s amazing.

      What is the google + button?

      • Google plus is similar to FB but run by Google… I added the book there as I get a lot of reads from my circle of followers there.. like WP they are from all over the world yet don’t really need to know me but follow because of what I share and then add me to a circle…

  14. A big congratulatory hug to you!

  15. Good luck! Shared on FB. xo Lisa
    Lunch sometime?

  16. Ronnie, I just posted this post on my Facebook page and wish you all the best.

  17. Gail Biben said:

    Happy to help. Happy and healthy new year Gail and Jim

    Sent from my iPad

  18. Congratulations, Ronnie! I will post it a few places.

  19. Wish you luck for 2014 my friend :)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 663 other followers

